Drivers from all across the country come to Los Angeles and the state of
California for the beautiful beaches, excellent dining scene and vibrant
nightlife. Unfortunately, one too many drinks at a bar can lead to getting
pulled over by police. As an out-of-state driver, what are the next steps
to take after you are arrested and charged with driving under the influence?
1. You Get To Keep Your Driver’s License
As an out-of-state driver, if you are arrested for DUI, the police will
warn you that your privilege to drive in California will be suspended
in 30 days. You get to keep your license. Your home state will be notified
of your DUI charge and your DMV may choose to suspend your license.
2. Fighting the License Suspension
You have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to file a request for
a hearing with the DMV. The DMV may not be able to schedule a hearing
for months and cannot suspend your license until that date. Luckily, you
do not have to be in California for the DMV hearing; an attorney can handle
the hearing for you.
3. Fighting the DUI Charge
Aside from the DMV process, you will also have to deal with the California
court system. Here is where you may face penalties such as jail time,
a suspended driver’s license, mandatory DUI classes, AA and thousands
of dollars in fines. If you are convicted, you will likely face consequences
in both California and your home state.
For most aspects of your case, you do not have to be present. This includes
the DMV hearing, evidence collection and initial hearings, all of which
your lawyer can help you with. The only part of the DUI process you need
to attend is the trial. Fortunately, an experienced DUI attorney can help
you resolve your case to avoid going to trial.
If you were recently charged arrested for driving under the influence in
a different state, contact our
Temecula DUI lawyers at Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich. Our firm can aggressively defend
or contact us online
to speak with an attorney.