Vehicular Manslaughter Lawyer in Murrieta
Aggressive Defense - Call (951) 506-6654 Today
Vehicular manslaughter is a criminal act under the California Penal Code.
Unlike other forms of homicide, vehicular manslaughter lacks the intent
to kill or cause harm to others. Regardless of intent, vehicular manslaughter
charges still can bring serious, life-altering consequences. If you’ve
been charged with vehicular manslaughter, you should speak to our lawyers. At
Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich, we can help you protect your rights and defend yourself from your charges.
Contact a vehicular manslaughter lawyer in Murrieta today to start your defense.
Vehicular Manslaughter in California
According to California law, you may be convicted of vehicular manslaughter
if you commit an unlawful act while driving, which is not a felony, if
you acted with negligence and a person dies as a result of your negligence.
In some cases, you may still be convicted if you did not perform an illegal
act, but were simply negligent.
Gross Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated
If you are intoxicated at the time of the vehicular manslaughter occurred,
you will be charged with Gross Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated,
which is handled by a different section of the California Penal Code.
For this charge, the negligent act must be separate from the DUI, meaning
that you must commit a reckless act while intoxicated that results in
the death of another. This can include speeding, driving into oncoming
traffic, driving onto sidewalks, or failing to stop.
Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter in California
The penalties you may be facing depends on whether you are found to have
been negligent or grossly negligent. If you have been charged with gross
vehicular manslaughter, you can face either misdemeanor or felony charges.
These charges carry penalties of varying severity, and you may be sentenced to:
Gross negligence, misdemeanor: 1 year in county jail.
Gross negligence, felony: Up to 6 years in state prison.
If you have been charge with negligence, as opposed to gross negligence,
you will only be facing a misdemeanor charge the penalty for this charge
is 1 year in county jail.
Vehicular manslaughter may also be caused for financial gain (such as an
insurance payout). If this is found to be the case, it will automatically
be charges as a felony, which carries a sentence of up to 10 years in prison.
You may also be sentenced to pay fines. For misdemeanor charges, these
fines may be up to $1,000. For felony charges, these fines may be up to
$10,000. A felony charge will also result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
Call a Murrieta Vehicular Manslaughter Attorney - (951) 506-6654
Vehicular manslaughter charges can be very emotional for all involved.
criminal charges, you may also struggle with the emotional and mental trauma caused
by the situation. Unfortunately, your pain will not prevent the prosecution
from pursuing the fullest sentence they can obtain. Your defense is critical
to ensuring that you are protected and that your rights are respected.
Our lawyers are prepared to help you immediately. At
Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich, we believe that every client deserves excellent criminal defense, and
we are well-equipped to tackle any charge, from misdemeanors to felonies.
Don’t hesitate to get the help you need. Speak to our team and schedule a
free case evaluation.
Contact a Murrieta vehicular manslaughter attorney today. Call (951) 506-6654.