Now that 2019 has arrived, there are several new traffic laws in California
that immediately take effect—from drunk driving cases to wearing helmets.
Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) for Drunk Drivers
From January 2019 to January 2026, repeat
DUI offenders and first-time DUI involving an injury are required to install
an IID for between 12 and 48 months. Furthermore, if an individual had
their driver’s license suspended because of the Administrative Per
Se law, they can gain restricted driving privileges if they install an
IID in their vehicle, as well as receive credit for having the device
installed if he/she is later convicted of drunk driving.
If a person who commits a first-time DUI that doesn’t involve an
injury, courts can decide whether to have him/her install an IID for up
to six months. However, if a first-time offender loses his license because
of the arrest, he/she can obtain a hardship license by installing an IID.
If you are 18 years of age or older, you no longer must wear a bicycle
helmet while riding a motorized scooter. Keep in mind, motorized scooters
are only allowed on Class II and IV bikeways and other roadways with a
maximum speed limit of 25 mph. If you are under 18 years old, riding a
bicycle, skateboard, or scooter without a helmet will result in a fix-it
ticket, which costs $25.
Previously only applying to vehicles up to six model years old, a new law
expands the smog check exemption to eight model years old. Cars that are
seven or eight years old must pay an annual $25 smog abatement fee, while
vehicles six years old or new will pay a $20 fee.
Low- & Zero-Emission Vehicles
The Clean Air Vehicle (CAV) decal programs allow low- and zero-emission
vehicles to use High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) lanes—also known as
carpool lanes—no matter how many occupants are in the vehicle. Green
and white decals are now expired. However, if you received a green or
white decal between January 2017and March 2018, you can request a red
decal to gain access to HOV lanes until January 2022. Light violet decals
will be issued in 2019 and are valid until January 2023.
Privileges for Minor Drivers
Courts no longer have the jurisdiction to restrict, delay, or suspend issuing
a minor’s driver’s license due to being truant for one year.
Passing Waste Service Vehicles
If you wish to overtake a waste collection vehicle when the amber lights
are flashing, you need to move over to the adjacent lane and pass it at
a safe distance. If doing that is unsafe, you must drive at a reasonable
and safe speed.
Hit-and-Run on Bike Paths
The provision of felony hit-and-run laws has been extended. Drivers who
are involving in a collision with a bicyclist causing injury or death
on Class I bikeways are required to stay at the scene.
Unsafe or Unsecured Vehicle Cargo
In written exams (knowledge tests) on California traffic laws, at least
one question on 20 percent of these test must address the unsecured load
code to understand that dumping or abandoning animals is a crime.
If you have been arrested for a DUI or another traffic violation in Murrieta,
contact our experienced legal team at
Hanson, Gorian, Bradford & Hanich and request a free consultation today.